Jeff Lynne reunites with former Electric Light Orchestra bandmate Richard Tandy

Even as Jeff Lynne is set to issue new solo versions of his greatest hits with the Electric Light Orchestra, he has reunited with former ELO member Richard Tandy. Videos of the pair performing “Showdown” and “Evil Woman” have been posted to

“Showdown” was originally a No. 12 hit single in the UK in 1973, while “Evil Woman” was went Top 10 both in America and in England in 1975.

It’s unclear whether a full-length recorded reunion with Tandy is in the offing, or if the longtime ELO keyboardist is to be part of Lynne’s planned Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra, though these new videos are posted under a heading that reads “sneak peeks.” Both Mr. Blue Sky and Lynne’s long-awaited second solo album, titled Long Wave, are set for release on October 9, 2012.

[SOMETHING ELSE! REWIND: While we wait for a pair of new Jeff Lynne recordings, let's dig back into some favorite ELO tracks from 'New World Record,' 'Out of the Blue' and 'Zoom.']

Tandy has appeared on every ELO recording, from 1971′s The Electric Light Orchestra through 2001′s Zoom, and served as co-arranger for the band beginning with the 1975 ELO album Eldorado. His work on Mini Moog, mellotron, harmonium, clavinet and piano were key elements in a string of career-making records for Lynne and Co. like 1976′s A New World Record, 1977′s Out of the Blue and 1979′s Discovery — as well as Time in 1981, which saw synthesizers take a more prominent role in the ELO sound.

Tandy was a schoolmate of fellow ELO co-founder Bev Bevan, and played harpsichord on the hit song “Blackberry Way” by the Move — a band that featured several future ELO members. Tandy has also worked with Lynne through his solo career, notably on Armchair Theatre from 1990.

Here are the complete track listings for ‘Long Wave’ and ‘Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra’:

1. She
2. If I Loved You
3. So Sad
4. Mercy, Mercy
5. Running Scared
6. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
7. Smile
8. At Last
9. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
10. Let It Rock
11. Beyond The Sea

1. Mr. Blue Sky
2. Evil Woman
3. Strange Magic
4. Don’t Bring Me Down
5. Turn To Stone
6. Showdown
7. Telephone Line
8. Livin’ Thing
9. Do Ya
10. Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
11. 10538 Overture
12. The Point Of No Return


Something Else!

The Something Else! Reviews webzine, an accredited Google News affiliate, is syndicated through Bing News, Topix and The site has been featured in The New York Times,'s A Blog Supreme, the Americana site, and JazzTimes, while our writers have also been published by USA Today,,, Blues Revue Magazine and, among others. Contact Something Else! at