Fusion Jazz

Tohpati, with Jimmy Haslip and Chad Wackerman – Tribal Dance (2014)

Impossibly labyrinthine but appealing harmonies combine here with a high level of acumen.

Burn List – Burn List (2014)

Burn List represents Seattle’s edgier notion of jazz, and represents it well.

Period [Mike Pride, Charlie Looker, Chuck Bettis] – 2 (2014)

2 is a blatant display of doom but not blatant display of chops, at least, not in the jazz sense of chops. It’s a temperament thing, and much of 2 moves at a glacial pace, and yet, the fury is all there. Slow motion death metal.

(Cross the) Heartland: Pat Metheny, “Barcarole” (1981)

(Cross the) Heartland: Pat Metheny, “Barcarole” (1981)

I had a guitar player friend who, when the topic of Pat Metheny came up, would say that he bought a copy of Offramp when it first came out, but didn’t like it all that much because he could never figure out when Metheny was playing the guitar.

John Escreet – Sound, Space and Structures (2014)

Anglo-American outside jazz achieve near-perfect symmetry and empathy when pianist John Escreet expands his trio with the great Evan Parker.

Peter Brotzmann, John Edwards, Jason Adasiewicz, Steve Noble – Mental Shake (2014)

Peter Brotzmann, John Edwards, Jason Adasiewicz, Steve Noble – Mental Shake (2014)

This is what free jazz is all about. Period.

Incognito – Amplified Soul (2014)

‘Amplified Soul’ is Incognito’s usual great stuff, which qualifies as well above average classic-style soul.

Bobby Avey – Authority Melts From Me (2014)

There have been times in the recent history of jazz when I thought that the MuseumAuthority™ would win out.

Something Else! sneak peek: Incognito, “Hats [Makes Me Wanna Holler]” (2014)

In the acid-jazz scene, there’s no one that has been doing it longer than Incognito. As the only band that’s largely styled after 70’s jazz-inflected RnB that actually existed in the 70’s,

Aaron Comess – Blues for Use (2014)

He might be best known in rock circles as a founding member of the Spin Doctors, but Aaron Comess has long ran on a parallel course focusing on jazz and blues — collaborating with Brad Meldau, Roy Hargrove and Robert Glasper along the way.