The Beatles, “Martha My Dear” from The White Album (1968): Deep Beatles

The Beatles, “Martha My Dear” from The White Album (1968): Deep Beatles

February 22, 2017

The Beatles’ “Martha My Dear” incorporates other genres into rock, but also subverts the typical verse-chorus form.

Nick Finzer’s Thoughtful ‘Hear and Now’ Also Honors Duke Ellington: Something Else! Interview

Nick Finzer’s Thoughtful ‘Hear and Now’ Also Honors Duke Ellington: Something Else! Interview

February 2, 2017

Trombonist Nick Finzer discusses the impetus for his new album ‘Hear and Now,’ a sweeping new tour and the importance of jazz education.

Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah, “The Reckoning” from Ruler Rebel (2017): Something Else! sneak peek

Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah, “The Reckoning” from Ruler Rebel (2017): Something Else! sneak peek

February 19, 2017

“The Reckoning” track has just been released as a stream and is the opening salvo in this latest campaign by Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah, from the upcoming first leg of the trilogy ‘Ruler Rebel’.

AMP Trio, “N.T. Bag”, from Three (2017): Something Else! exclusive premiere

AMP Trio, “N.T. Bag”, from Three (2017): Something Else! exclusive premiere

February 27, 2017

“N.T. Bag” isn’t played by a trio where one player dominates over the others. With the AMP Trio, everyone dominates.

Eivind Opsvik,  “Brraps!” from Overseas V (2017): Something Else! exclusive stream

Eivind Opsvik, “Brraps!” from Overseas V (2017): Something Else! exclusive stream

February 21, 2017

In the exclusive premiere of Eivind Opsvik’s “Brraps!”, the guy making those deft moves on the double bass is the same one wearing a raincoat making deft dance moves in his living room.

Trouble Kaze – June (2017)

Trouble Kaze – June (2017)

February 25, 2017

The sextet Trouble Kaze and their debut album ‘June’ is an inspired way to extend and expand on the ideas first put forward by the Japanese/French quartet Kaze.

Projekt Gemineye, “Ordinary Day” from Ordinary Day (2016): One Track Mind

Projekt Gemineye, “Ordinary Day” from Ordinary Day (2016): One Track Mind

February 25, 2017

“Ordinary Day” makes a fine first impression for Canadian metal/prog veteran Mark Anthony K’s Projekt Gemineye.

Projekt Gemineye, “Ordinary Day” from Ordinary Day (2016): One Track Mind

Projekt Gemineye, “Ordinary Day” from Ordinary Day (2016): One Track Mind

February 25, 2017

“Ordinary Day” makes a fine first impression for Canadian metal/prog veteran Mark Anthony K’s Projekt Gemineye.

Fred Phillips’ Best Hard Rock and Metal of 2016: Anthrax, Testament, Rob Zombie, Dead Daisies

Fred Phillips’ Best Hard Rock and Metal of 2016: Anthrax, Testament, Rob Zombie, Dead Daisies

January 2, 2017

As you go through my Best Hard Rock and Metal of 2016 list, you’ll see why I’m calling it the year of the classic thrash band.

The Beatles, “Martha My Dear” from The White Album (1968): Deep Beatles

The Beatles, “Martha My Dear” from The White Album (1968): Deep Beatles

February 22, 2017

The Beatles’ “Martha My Dear” incorporates other genres into rock, but also subverts the typical verse-chorus form.

Wilko Johnson – I Keep It To Myself: The Best of Wilko Johnson (2017)

Wilko Johnson – I Keep It To Myself: The Best of Wilko Johnson (2017)

February 2, 2017

This generous two-disc set is packed with recently recorded Wilko Johnson goodies, including re-workings of several Dr Feelgood favorites.

The Band’s ‘Christmas Must Be Tonight’ Remains an Unjustly Overlooked Holiday Classic

The Band’s ‘Christmas Must Be Tonight’ Remains an Unjustly Overlooked Holiday Classic

December 25, 2016

The Band’s perhaps too ambitious “Christmas Must Be Tonight” never became the seasonal favorite it should have been.

Mavis Staples goes behind the scenes at the Band’s Last Waltz: ‘It wasn’t rehearsed to go like that’

Mavis Staples goes behind the scenes at the Band’s Last Waltz: ‘It wasn’t rehearsed to go like that’

November 24, 2016

Mavis Staples joined the Band on “The Weight” after their famous ‘Last Waltz’ concert on Thanksgiving 1976 – and something amazing happened.

Ross Hammond – Follow Your Heart (2017)

Ross Hammond – Follow Your Heart (2017)

February 15, 2017

A back-to-basics record that flows forth with natural ease, ‘Follow Your Heart’ is Ross Hammond practicing what he’s preaching with the title.

Yes, “On the Silent Wings of Freedom” from Tormato (1978): YESterdays

Yes, “On the Silent Wings of Freedom” from Tormato (1978): YESterdays

February 21, 2017

I know a lot of fans will disagree with me but I believe “On the Silent Wings of Freedom” is a Yes classic. Re-live it, if you dare.

Steely Dan Sunday: Katy Lied turns 40 this month

Steely Dan Sunday: Katy Lied turns 40 this month

March 8, 2015

This month, Steely Dan’s ‘Katy Lied’ turned 40 years old. Here are some reasons why it’s good enough to overcome an infamous mixing fiasco.

The Beatles, “Martha My Dear” from The White Album (1968): Deep Beatles

The Beatles, “Martha My Dear” from The White Album (1968): Deep Beatles

February 22, 2017

The Beatles’ “Martha My Dear” incorporates other genres into rock, but also subverts the typical verse-chorus form.

Bruce Springsteen – The River (1980): Gimme Five

Bruce Springsteen – The River (1980): Gimme Five

October 18, 2015

When Bruce Springsteen issued ‘The River’ in October of 1980, I didn’t like it very much. Time has changed that – and here’s why.

Levon and the Hawks, “He Don’t Love You” (1965): Across the Great Divide

Levon and the Hawks, “He Don’t Love You” (1965): Across the Great Divide

October 22, 2015

The Band, then known as Levon and the Hawks, released a few forgotten songs before heading to that basement with Bob Dylan. Here’s one of the best.

Toto, “Fahrenheit” from Fahrenheit (1986): Toto Tuesdays

Toto, “Fahrenheit” from Fahrenheit (1986): Toto Tuesdays

February 14, 2017

Steve Porcaro was already creating synth orchestrations and introductory motifs for Toto’s live show, but “Fahrenheit” took things to another level.

(Cross the) Heartland: Pat Metheny, “Offramp” (1981)

(Cross the) Heartland: Pat Metheny, “Offramp” (1981)

June 7, 2014

Some think Metheny is joking around, that he couldn’t possibly like “all of this noise.”

Chicago, “While the City Sleeps” from Chicago V (1972): Saturdays in the Park

Chicago, “While the City Sleeps” from Chicago V (1972): Saturdays in the Park

February 25, 2017

Robert Lamm contributes a stand-out cut from the last album (except for parts of ‘VII’) where Chicago is truly an experimental band.

Projekt Gemineye, “Ordinary Day” from Ordinary Day (2016): One Track Mind

Projekt Gemineye, “Ordinary Day” from Ordinary Day (2016): One Track Mind

February 25, 2017

“Ordinary Day” makes a fine first impression for Canadian metal/prog veteran Mark Anthony K’s Projekt Gemineye.

La Original Banda el Limon + Banda Maguey, Feb. 11, 2017: Shows I’ll Never Forget

La Original Banda el Limon + Banda Maguey, Feb. 11, 2017: Shows I’ll Never Forget

February 22, 2017

La Original Banda el Limon, Banda Maguey and others performed at the gorgeous Eagles Club Ballroom – a space built for the likes of Glenn Miller.

Cream, the Police, Rush, Emerson Lake and Palmer + others: Rock Trio Odd Couples

Cream, the Police, Rush, Emerson Lake and Palmer + others: Rock Trio Odd Couples

February 24, 2017

It seems the magical, minimum number needed to qualify as a rock ‘n’ roll band is three. So, let’s pit some famous rock trios against each other.

Celtic Frost – Cold Lake (1988): Metal Meltdowns

Celtic Frost – Cold Lake (1988): Metal Meltdowns

November 20, 2016

Celtic Frost was one of the pioneering bands of what would become death and black metal. Then came 1988’s ‘Cold Lake.’

Bruce Springsteen Finds Darkness on the River: Shadows in Stereo

Bruce Springsteen Finds Darkness on the River: Shadows in Stereo

November 13, 2016

Bruce Springsteen has always been dogged by rumors of versions of albums that differed markedly from what became the commercial release.

‘Rockin’ the City of Angels’: Inside Douglas Harr’s Great New Book

‘Rockin’ the City of Angels’: Inside Douglas Harr’s Great New Book

January 27, 2017

I wrote ‘Rockin’ the City of Angels’ as homage to rock music of the ‘70s — in concert and on film.

A Hard Day’s Night … with Jimmy Page?

A Hard Day’s Night … with Jimmy Page?

February 21, 2017

Mike Tiano explores the often-overlooked role that future Led Zeppelin star Jimmy Page played in the Beatles’ 1964 film ‘A Hard Day’s Night.’

Al Jarreau (1940-2017): Our Essential Playlist

Al Jarreau (1940-2017): Our Essential Playlist

February 19, 2017

Al Jarreau’s distinctive singing style crossed boundaries, encompassing jazz, pop, R&B, funk, gospel, and even world music.

Halloween Howlers from Guadalcanal Diary, Joy Division, Jim Stafford + others: Gimme Five

Halloween Howlers from Guadalcanal Diary, Joy Division, Jim Stafford + others: Gimme Five

October 29, 2016

Let’s stalk through the rock ‘n’ roll graveyard and dig up some of the scariest music on this side of the mortal curtain from Joy Division and others.